Happy Holidays!

These past few weeks of term, I have been counting down the days.

Boy Wonder has had enough, Cheeky Boy has had enough.

I cannot make another bloody packed lunch. I just can’t.

The last week of term, I’m all “WOOP! WOOP! Holidays! No School run! NO homework! Yay!” Like some Californian fresher about to go on Spring Break.

Then the reality sinks in.

SHIT!

Two weeks of entertaining my children. Two weeks of attempting to stop them from killing themselves/each other.

How quickly I forget.

I need to learn the negotiation skills of a UN advisor. STAT.

Seriously, though, it has got easier as the boys have got older. They appreciate the need for downtime, especially as terms are so much longer here.

I am learning to understand there is a fine line between down time and unorganised chaos. Boy Wonder still needs some structure and routine.

Otherwise the lunatics will seriously overtake this asylum.

The success of the Food Project has given me ideas for the holidays.

So I asked the boys to choose 5 activities each they would like to do over the break.

Boy Wonder

  • swimming
  • nature walk/bike ride
  • cooking
  • go out for dinner as a family
  • bowling

Cheeky Boy

  • baseball
  •  BBQ
  • Aquarium
  • Go to the MCG
  • have a rest

Loving their lists! There were a few I had already pencilled in and nearly all of them are kind on the pocket!

I also had a flick through this bad boy:

I know it’s a bit gender specific, but it’s loaded with ideas, information and history.I bought it for The Saint when we had Boy Wonder. (There is a Girl’s version)

So far I’ve picked out ‘How to make invisible ink’, ‘How to make a battery’, and ‘How to make Water bombs’ for starters.

Hopefully there will be a balance between rest, play and giving me some time out. ( and enough good/bad weather options).

I’ll report back!

How are your holiday plans shaping up?

6 thoughts on “Happy Holidays!

  1. Sounds fantastic and I love your idea of asking them to list 5 things they’d each like to do. Very clever! Hope it is much easier than you’re anticipating. Enjoy every minute, they’ll be back to school before you know it! Then you can start planning for the massive break over Christmas! 😉

Leave a Reply

