Boy Wonder’s Food Project

Those of you who read my post The Edge last week will know that Boy Wonder and dinner time can often be an explosive mix.

His (current ) 3 favourite foods are macaroni cheese, beef burgers and salad. He makes the salad himself with a divine dressing, so that’s a big plus point.

However, man cannot live on mac’ n’cheese, burgers and salad alone. I need him to broaden his range of foods. Before he ends up with rickets, or I get sectioned. Whichever happens sooner.

I tried to explain this during the mother of all melt downs last week (the range of food not rickets or me being sectioned), but predictably I got nowhere.

Time for a new tack. Over the weekend I sat down with Boy Wonder and a heap of cookery books. I explained that we needed to find 6 different meals. He could choose them all. Burgers could feature once during the week. He was very excited and together we had an enjoyable hour talking about recipes.

I then made him this:

I am hoping that the menu board will take away the element of surprise which can often make him anxious. He can also see when he will be having his favourite meal.

I have found myself squawking “THIS IS NOT A RESTAURANT” in the heat of battle, but have decided to embrace the notion for the purpose of this project. He doesn’t know it yet, but I am also going to produce a little score card for him to give feedback. He adores Masterchef, so I think this could work.

I am under no illusions that this is going to be a tricky week. There will certainly be things on the menu that he won’t like, Cheeky Boy DEFINITELY won’t like a lot of it, but I am hoping that this project might make mealtimes easier.

Watch this space.

4 thoughts on “Boy Wonder’s Food Project

Leave a Reply

